Home » Tiếng Việt » Các Bài Viết » Khuddaka Nikaya

Khuddaka Nikaya

The Khuddaka Nikāya (‘Minor Collection’) is the last of the five collections, in the Sutta Pitaka, which is one of the “three baskets” that compose the Pali Tipitaka, the scriptures of Theravada Buddhism. This nikaya consists of fifteen (Thailand), seventeen (Sri Lanka), or eighteen books (Burma) in different editions on various topics attributed to the Buddha and his chief disciples.

The word khuddaka means ‘small’ in Pali and is derived from the Sanskrit kṣudraka (kshudraka). Nikāya is ‘collection’ in both languages; however, Mahayana Buddhists use āgama in substitution. Kṣudraka Āgama is therefore the Mahayana’s terminology equivalent of Khuddaka Nikāya.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: